MicroHomes-Fundraising

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 3.26.45 PM
I’ve started in IndiGoGo to fund the MicroHomes project and it’s already been hugely successful!

What I Need Help With.

Like most artists in Detroit, I happily support myself without much income. However, I am rich with social capital, and that’s where my network of loving friends come in. I need donations for tools, wheels, nuts ‘n bolts, miscellaneous supplies for each house, and perhaps a membership to a hacker space if I find I need more specialized tools. I’m hoping to find most of my materials at junkyards and curbside. I estimate $250 per tiny home and my goal is to build 8 before winter starts.  Any money left over I will gladly donate to the Burners Without Boarders Backpack Project, or save to build more microhomes next year. I am not looking to profit from this. I just want my art to truly make an impact.

If you are unable to contribute financially, the project can also use materials. Building materials such as wood, hardware, shingles, metal scraps, etc., but also any items to make these into homes and not just shelters.  For instance, paints, a cooler, a water vessel, bedding, mirrors, backbacks, etc.  Not only will the homes provide privacy, shelter and safety to the people, I hope it will bring a sense of pride as well.  I have no attachment to the homes once they are released, if they brighten a day, lift the spirit or perhaps give a stepping stone to one person in need I’ll be happy and deem the project a success.  If you have materials to share or want to help this project in other ways you can contact me on Facebook at George Monicker.

Visit the IndiGoGo to donate to the cause: HERE

Leave a comment